Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: New to Kegging  (Read 2362 times)

Offline chrsbrmn

• 1st Kit
New to Kegging
« on: March 18, 2018, 05:19:55 pm »
I am new to kegging and believe I ran into an issue.  When force carbonating my batch at the recommended temp (37 degrees) and pressure (10 psi) for 3 to 5 days I ran out of CO2.  I am not sure when my tank went dry but on day 5 when I started to pour nothing came out.  So, I had my tank refilled and started over.  I am on day 2 now and have been testing it everyday.  It is obviously not fully carbonated yet but I am tasting a little bit of "keg" or "new metal" in the beer.  I also got a headache soon after the taste.  Is my beer ruined?  Is it safe to wait out the next few days to reach full carbonation?  Is it possible that my beer is saturated in co2 and possibly ruined?  Any advise would be helpful.  Thanks fellow homebrewers.

Offline brew inspector01

• Cellarman
Re: New to Kegging
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2018, 07:45:08 pm »
Well first it sounds like you had a leak somewhere.  Check your connections and seal on the keg. You can use Star San or soapy water along connections to find it.

As for the metal taste... I am assuming these are new to you kegs. Did you clean them prior to filling? If so how? There could have been residual substances in the kegs being new, reconditioned or just used.

Sent from my SM-J327P using Tapatalk

Offline chrsbrmn

• 1st Kit
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2018, 08:38:07 pm »
brew inspector01 -

your right, when I changed the co2 tanks out I noticed my ball-lock connections were not secure.  I re-fitted the connections and re-clamped them.  All is good now as I did check them using Star San.  The keg is new from Northern Brewer and I cleaned it using just an oxy-clean soak, no scrub and then a couple minutes of Star San soak. Thank you for your reply.   

Offline brew inspector01

• Cellarman
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2018, 04:33:22 pm »