Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: BJCP -- A Question of Age  (Read 1299 times)

Offline Mr_Beer

• Cellarman
BJCP -- A Question of Age
« on: December 17, 2019, 08:10:10 pm »
I have been brewing for the past 25+ years.  My skills are reasonable.
I have  help start  a local beer club and our membership is growing.

A suggestion  for our members was to study for and work towards BJCP certification.  It sounds interesting and like it would be a good goal.

The question is one of age.  I am 75 and probably not as attuned to the subtle nuances of tasting --  age does tend to diminish these senses.

I am told the process takes several years of study, activity and testing.  If I passed and actually started to do some judging the question would be one of capability --  is this fellow too old to be a good judge?

So what say you -- opinions are solicited.

Is there an age at which it is time to let that activity be done by others? 

Offline Brewtopalonian

• Assistant Brewer
Re: BJCP -- A Question of Age
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2019, 08:16:50 pm »
Judging is all about what YOU taste.  All you can do is the best you can to describe the beer you have in front of you without bias.  As a judge I training and having just taken my tasting exam, I can tell you that the tests and exams are designed to limit you to your ability.  Meaning, if you can't discern certain off flavors or if you cant tell the difference between a Munich helles and a German pilsner then you will be limited in your ability to gain ranks in the bjcp.  My suggestion is to give it a try if it is something you are truly interested/passionate about.  You'll be surprised how much you can actually taste once you start focusing on describing beers.  Good luck!

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Keep It Simple, Stupid!

Offline BrewBama

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2019, 08:35:44 pm »