Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: WY2565 Kolsch question  (Read 3240 times)

Offline ipaguy

• Assistant Brewer
WY2565 Kolsch question
« on: November 16, 2010, 06:38:15 pm »
I've got a honey kolsch in primary at 62F right now.  This is my first time w/ 2565, and I was wondering if I need a diacetyl rest with this yeast.  I'm not currently planning on a secondary, just bottling with a little gelatin.
Primary: gotlandsdricke/alt/dunkel hybrid
Secondary: pale barleywine,
Bottled:  Gotlandsdricke
               Oatmeal/blackberry stout
               Honey Kolsch

Offline bluesman

• I must live here
  • Delaware
Re: WY2565 Kolsch question
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 06:43:04 pm »
Taste it...if you suspect diacetyl then warm it up to about 70 degrees for a couple days and try it again.
This yeast stays in suspension for a long time.  It should be fine with a d-rest.
Ron Price

Offline johnf

• Brewer
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2010, 08:07:08 pm »
Diacetyl precursor can be high before diacetyl is high so my preference is to warm a sample on the stovetop, which will rapidly convert any diacetyl precursor to diacetyl. If you detect diacetyl in the warmed sample, do a rest.

I increase the temperature of every ferment which has a number of benefits including preventing diacetyl when using strains prone to leaving some.

Offline ipaguy

• Assistant Brewer
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2010, 08:44:59 am »
Diacetyl precursor can be high before diacetyl is high so my preference is to warm a sample on the stovetop, which will rapidly convert any diacetyl precursor to diacetyl. If you detect diacetyl in the warmed sample, do a rest.

I increase the temperature of every ferment which has a number of benefits including preventing diacetyl when using strains prone to leaving some.

Please elaborate on the additional benefits.
               Oatmeal/blackberry stout
               Honey Kolsch

Offline majorvices