Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: How long does a batch take/Grinding grain.  (Read 6843 times)

Offline gmac

• Brewmaster General
  • London, Ontario
How long does a batch take/Grinding grain.
« on: March 11, 2011, 07:49:46 am »
I've got everything together for my first all grain batch.  Gonna do a batch sparge on a 5 gal batch.  Just wondering how much time this takes or should take.  I expect to be 50% longer since it's my first attempt but I'm a bit nervous about getting started.

Also, I remember reading somewhere that you shouldn't grind grain where you brew.  Is this true?  I can't see how it would matter because we try so hard to keep bacteria etc out of the carboy anyway.  I don't have a lot of extra room.

I'll take some pictures as I go if you're interested.
Wish me luck.
Graham

Offline gordonstrong

• Senior Brewmaster
    • BJCP
Re: How long does a batch take/Grinding grain.
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2011, 07:57:21 am »
Probably 5 or 6 hours, depending on how fast you can bring things to a boil.

Clean and sanitize your carboy and cover it with foil, plastic wrap, or a stopper.   Doesn't matter where you crush your grain.  Whatever is easiest for your overall process. You have to move it around.
Gordon Strong • Beavercreek, Ohio • AHA Member since 1997 • Twitter: GordonStrong

Offline saintpierre

• Brewer
  • Augusta, ME
    • www.malthomebrewclub.org
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2011, 08:08:36 am »
Correct me if I am wrong but, I have heard not to crush grain where you ferment.  However, I don't see it as a issue if you sanitize your carboy and cover as Gordon says. I wouldn't crush grain near an open fermenter thought...
Mike St. Pierre, P.E.
Maine Ale & Libation Tasters (MALT)
BJCP Certified
[719.4, 74.1] AR

Offline hopfenundmalz

• Global Moderator
  • I must live here
  • Milford, MI
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2011, 08:41:11 am »