Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Rookie Needs A Lil Help  (Read 11204 times)

Offline doc1auto1

• 1st Kit
Rookie Needs A Lil Help
« on: May 22, 2012, 05:19:17 pm »
Hello.  I'm a rookie.  I make a 5gal batch of Wheat Hefeweizen.  I did not check the gravity at the beginning of fermantation, but I check it now and it's 1.060.  I've left it in the fermentor for about a month hoping it needed more time.  I'm assuming that's incorrect.  I checked it 2 weeks ago and the gravity was the same.  Also, I know I pitched the yeast too early. I pitched it right as I poured the hot wort into the 2gal of cold water in ice I had prepared prior.  My guess is I killed the yeast and the brew has not been fermenting.  In the first week or so I did see some bubbles slowly evacuate through the carboy.  .  Any advice from a pro would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks!

Offline saintpierre

• Brewer
  • Augusta, ME
    • www.malthomebrewclub.org
Re: Rookie Needs A Lil Help
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 05:30:21 pm »
I'm not going to go so far to say I'm a pro but I know enough to be dangerous  ;D

Yes, I would say you pitched your yeast too early and the hot wor t probably killed them. Unfortunately at a month in your brew is probably beyond saving.  I think you already have realized you need to pitch (add) your yeast once the wort has cooled to fermentation temperature.

Don't get discouraged and try again. We all have stories about batches that went wrong.
Mike St. Pierre, P.E.
Maine Ale & Libation Tasters (MALT)
BJCP Certified
[719.4, 74.1] AR

Offline bigchicken

• Assistant Brewer
  • Lincoln, NE
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 05:42:53 pm »