Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Kegging and Carbonating - 1st time brew  (Read 4085 times)

Offline jasongael

• Cellarman
Kegging and Carbonating - 1st time brew
« on: June 11, 2014, 10:10:05 am »
Hi,

I want to transfer my fermented beer from carboy into a Corny Keg and carbonate it. Do I have to use cornstarch or sugar to carbonate it? I thought I heard I can just use my CO2 tank to carbonate it over a week or so? Total newbie. Any / all advice is much appreciated!

Thanks!
"May your glass be ever full, may the roof over your head be always strong, and may you be in heaven a half-hour before the devil knows you're dead."

We'll drink to that.

Offline Stevie

• Official Poobah of No Life. (I Got Ban Hammered by Drew)
Re: Kegging and Carbonating - 1st time brew
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 10:21:09 am »
No cornstarch!

Corn or table sugar work fine, but you still want CO2 around to dispense as well as seat the lid.

There are loads of online calculators out there to assist in determining the appropriate amount of sugar. Those are general designed for bottles and you will want to use less for a keg. 1/2 - 2/3 is the general rule of thumb.

Online calculators will also tell you what the ideal pressure is for a given volume of CO2 at your serving temperture. Those are basically set and forget and can take a week or two to carbonate without shaking.

Offline mchrispen

• Brewmaster
    • Accidentalis Brewing Blog
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2014, 10:21:41 am »
You can do either. Depends on your patience.

You can force carb, setting the CO2 pressure a bit higher than serving and shake like hell a couple of times in the day. Make sure the beer is cold first. The other issue is making sure to rack into a fully purged cornie - this can force oxygen into the beer and ruin it. I fill the keg with water/sanitizer and push that out completely with CO2 to eliminate as much O2 as possible before racking beer into the keg.

or