Membership questions? Log in issues? Email info@brewersassociation.org

Author Topic: Just bottled my first batch and I am in fear of bottle bombs, Help Please.  (Read 3174 times)

Offline BrewNOOB

• 1st Kit
Ok so my friend and I made an IPA and used a whole grain jai alai cigar city clone. The OG was off the charts as we used a refractometer to take the reading, it was upwards of 1.08 approx. I let it Ferment in the primary carboy for 2 weeks and then transferred to a secondary carboy and dry hopped it. It fermented in the secondary for 5 weeks and there were no signs of bubbles this past week in the blow off. So today I decided to bottled the batch. My friend (who has done this before is out of town, and I haven't been able to contact him) I am brand new to all of this.
 The recipes FG is 1.016 however I believe the reading I got from a hydrometer was almost 1.04
My question is Did I create bottle bombs and if so how long do I have before they explode or am I just freaking out for no reason and everything should be fine. I have the bottles conditioning at the moment inside of a plastic cooler at room temp in the closet. Please help asap, thank you so much.

Offline JT

• Senior Brewmaster
  • Bloatarian Brewing League - Cincinnati, OH
    • Bloatarian Brewing League
1.040 is a very high number for a finishing gravity.  It is very likely that, even if the yeast was finished for some reason,  you won't enjoy this beer.  Questions:
Extract or all grain? 
What size batch? 
What yeast did you use and how much?
What temperature did you ferment?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

Offline BrewNOOB

• 1st Kit
I did sample after I got the hydrometer reading and it smells really good and taste amazing its like a cross between jai alai and a lagunitas. Anyways

Its an all grain recipe.
It was a 5 gallon batch we actually finished with 4 gallons
I'm not sure of the yeast my friend did that part.
it fermented at room temperature
for little over 7 weeks total.